To Obtain an Open Burn Permit
All requests must be made by calling the Fire Chief at 413-634-5470 before 7:00 PM the day before you want the permit for. If there is no answer, leave a message containing your telephone number. You will receive a return call before 9 AM the next day.
See Burning Regulations below for additional rules that must be followed and when open burning is allowed by the Department of Environmental Protection.
Burning without a permit will result in:
- $100.00 fine for the first violation
- $500.00 for the second violation
- $1,000.00 for the third violation and any further violations.
Open burning rules and guidance offered by the Massachusetts Departments of Fire Services and Environmental Protection can be found by clicking here.
The open burning regulations are contained in Massachusetts DEP Regulation 310 CMR 7.07 "Open Burning".
In summary, open burning may only be done as follows:
- Burning may start at 10:00 AM and must be extinguished by 4:00 PM on the day of your permit.
- When air quality is acceptable for burning. You can find this out by calling the MassDEP Air Quality Hotline at (800) 882-1497 or by visiting MassAir Online to find out if it is.
- At least 75 feet from all dwellings, buildings, or structures.
- As close as possible to the source of material being burned.
- You must have a permit. The Fire Department can refuse or cancel a permit at any time. (Example: violation of permit regulations, or change in weather conditions.)
- Your permit is for BRUSH ONLY! All other materials are illegal. No leaves, grass, hay, stumps, building debris or any other materials are allowed to be burned.
- No person shall set, maintain or increase a fire in open air at any time except by permission. Must be 18 years or older to apply for permit and/or set, maintain or increase fire once permission has been granted by the Fire Department.
- Any open fire must be attended at all times by permit holder. Keep your cell phone with you while burning.
IF AN EMERGENCY DEVELOPS CALL 911 IMMEDIATELY!