Has any thought been given to an underground infrastructure so cables will not be affected by weather?

Yes, and we have determined that a town-wide underground build would be cost-prohibitive, due to the prevalence of stone ledge and the complexities of securing right of ways on private property. It is also important to note that fiber-optic cable is vastly superior to both traditional copper telephone lines and coaxial cable lines, and weather conditions do not cause as severe damage to fiber optics.

Appears in: Broadband Internet FAQs

Calendar of Events
Tue, Feb 27, 2024, 7:00 pm
Town Hall
Posted to: Select Board
Wed, Feb 28, 2024, 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Plainfield Town Hall
  • Attached File: 2023-12-14 Conservation Commission Minutes 3
  • Attached File: Agenda Feb- 28 2024.odt
  • Mon, Mar 4, 2024, 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Finance Committee
    Tue, Mar 12, 2024, 7:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Select Board
    Tue, Mar 26, 2024, 7:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Select Board
    Tue, Apr 9, 2024, 7:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Select Board
    Tue, Apr 23, 2024, 7:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Select Board
    Tue, May 14, 2024, 7:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Select Board
    Tue, May 28, 2024, 7:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Select Board
    Tue, Jun 11, 2024, 7:00 pm
    Town Hall
    Posted to: Select Board
    Latest News
    Donate to support Smitty recover from house fire.
    Bivalent Vaccines
    Judith Cole and Robert Mellstrom win contested races
    Plainfield Fire-EMS responds as mutual aid to deadly house fire in Cummington.
    Warrant article for the purchase of new fire truck.